I’ve been in a friends with benefits arrangement with Angela for about 3 weeks now and I’m thinking of ending it.

The truth is, I’m just not that physically turned on by her, so the “benefits” part of our friendship is getting to be a bit of bore and dare I say, a chore. You know that joke when they compare sex to pizza – and how even cold pizza is still pizza, implying that bad sex is still better than no sex. I’m not so sure about that anymore. I think I’d rather go without sex for a while and continue dating and improving my pick up skills.

I don’t know how best to tell her. I like her but I think she’s getting more enjoyment out of our interactions than I am. We spent last Saturday night together and she hinted that she’d like to get together next weekend again. I’m not that excited about the idea to be perfectly honest. I’ve got friends coming in from out of town and I could use the remaining time to just hang out with my guy friends or practice meeting/picking up new women.

As a bigger topic, it really scares me that I’ll lose the physical attraction for my future wife. I mean, I realize we’re all going to get old and less attractive as we age, but how do you deal with that, as a man? I know people say that over the years you will learn to appreciate your wife in deeper ways but I guess for me, that’s been issue in the past – where I’ve lost the attraction for a girlfriend and that led to the eventual end of the relationship. I don’t want to be some superficial jerk that’s only concerned about looks – I definitely think there are other qualities that are extremely important for my future Mrs. Right to have. But at the same time, I can’t help deny that a physical connection and attraction is very important to me.

