As you might know, I’ve been involved in a friends with benefits arrangement with my friend Angela for the past few weeks and I’ve been thinking of ending it.

I called Angela tonight to tell her that I won’t be getting together with her this weekend. I was not looking forward to calling her because I thought it would feel awkward. But I didn’t want to wait till Friday to tell her I couldn’t get together with her on the weekend.

I told her that I’m very busy with work (which is true) and that I wanted some down time (which is also true). However, I didn’t tell her that I wasn’t interested in us having sex anymore. I just couldn’t bring myself to say it. She was really nice and friendly when I called – a great change from Cassandra. She asked me how my day was and was very open and positive. She even said she was very happy to hear from me. She admitted her disappointment that we wouldn’t be getting together this weekend and she suggested that we get together early next week. Because she’s a good person who’s very friendly and nice, I feel awkward telling her that I don’t want us to be physically intimate anymore. After I told her that we wouldn’t be meeting this weekend, she playfully joked how she’s gone without us having sex for a week so she could wait a few more days, even though she didn’t want to. That was a very nice thing to say so I wasn’t going to say something like “um… well, actually, you’ll have to go without sex for longer than that”.

OK, to the women readers out there, what would be a good way for a guy to say he doesn’t want to have sex with you but he still wants to be friends and finds you a good person? On the one hand, I don’t want to hurt her feelings if I just say it directly like that. On the other hand, I feel that taking a direct approach might be best. So I’m a little confused at the moment. As it stands, we’re not going to see each other this weekend but she still thinks that we’re getting together next week for some “friendly benefits”.

