I’ve been feeling kinda down this week. What I’m noticing is that the more chances I take to connect with women, the better I feel. The days when I attempted (but failed) to pickup women, I felt on top of the world. But I’ve been finding the opposite is also true – when I stop taking these chances and revert to old safe and familiar patterns of behavior, the worse I start to feel. I know I’ve made some good progress over the last few weeks – the pickup attempts, the dates, the friends with benefits, etc. but I still feel I’m far away from my end goal of finding Mrs. Right.

Here are a few things that got me down this week:

During my blind date from hell I spotted an attractive woman that looked very familiar. I was positive I’ve seen her somewhere before but I just couldn’t place her. Instead of walking up to her and asking her, I chickened out. At the time, I reasoned that it wouldn’t look good if Cassandra, my blind date who was using the ladies room, would come out of the ladies room and see me chatting up another woman. Not like it matters now since Cassandra proved to be a disaster.

After my blind date from hell with Cassandra I went running in the park to get some positive energy back. I ended up running by a cute woman who looked like she was walking with her dad. I could have stopped and started talking to her but I felt too awkward/shy and just ran by her.

Eve, my hot neighbor, called the other day and postponed our date till later this week. She came down with some cold and while I believe her, it still sucks that we didn’t get a chance to get together, especially after I had the blind date from hell this week with Cassandra.

I took a peek at an online dating site I used be a part of and I happened to notice that a really hot acquaintance of mine had a profile there – and yet she’s been non-committal about us meeting. I’ve been debating whether to re-join that dating site. I’m no stranger to the online dating world but this time around, I wanted to do things differently and meet women in more natural settings. But I gave into temptation and went online and saw all the hotties on the site, waiting to find Mr. Right, or even Mr. Right Now. It’s tempting to join again, but part of me feels it would be a form of settling if I went back to that routine again. And really, to be perfectly honest, I don’t want to start competing with all the other guys on those sites for the attention of a few women – it’s just not my style. I’m more into taking the road less traveled – like meeting women in subways, bookstores and coffee shops 🙂

So maybe this whole rut is because of my blind date from hell earlier this week. Yeah, let’s blame her. OK, now I feel better. The truth is I feel like I gotta get out of this rut and get back in the game – start taking chances and interacting with women again. It’s been less than a week since I tried to pick up three women in one day and two on another day and now I feel like it was someone else that did that, as if I couldn’t do that again. I know I’ll bounce back, but I just needed some more cleansing before feeling like I can get back in the game.

