I hadn’t spotted any attractive women on my run and I was going to chalk up that run to one of those days when the circumstances just weren’t there for me to approach a woman. As I’m about to stop running and start walking to cool down I spot this really nice cutie (7) walking her dog. This was a great excuse to stop running anyway – funny how throughout my run I had thought, “Wouldn’t it be nice to spot an attractive woman I can approach just so that I can stop running – it’ll be easier to approach her than continue running.” When I start thinking like that, I know that approaching women is becoming easier.

The woman was walking her dog towards me so I get about 10 feet away from her I before I stop running and let out this big, “Whew! I need to stop!”
She looks at me in a curious way.

I just look at her, get this big smile on and tell her in a playful way, “You gotta tell me something – anything!”

She smiled back! No deer-in-head-light look!
She replies in a playful way with a big smile on her face, “What do you want me to say to you?”
“Tell me something – anything!” I keep smiling in a playful way.
“Um… how are you?”
I try and keep it playful but just say “I’m great – how are you?”
“I’m fine.”
She continues to smile but isn’t quite sure where this is going. I bend down towards her dog and ask her the name. She tells me and I play with him for a little bit. But after a few seconds her dog starts pulling her away from me – maybe the dog got annoyed and wanted to continue his walk. She lets the dog pull her away and after my futile attempt to get her to stop walking away, she’s gone.

Things I Learned

  • Being more fun and playful with her made her feel at ease. It feels less dangerous and creepy than a “I find you interesting and had to talk to you” approach that I’ve used in the past. She didn’t get the deer-in-the-headlights look like my last approach while running. This was really the start of a huge concept that I’ll be posting more about in future approaches – banter. It was my first introduction to the concept of bantering with a woman when I first meet her and it started to open my eyes to the possibilities.

List of All My Pick Up Approaches

